National Park Plitvice Lakes

National Park Plitvice Lakes are the oldest and the largest national park of Croatia. The park is located in the Croatian mountain range, between the mountain range of the Small Chapel in the west and the northwest and Lička Plješivica in the southeast.

With its exceptional natural beauty, this area has always attracted nature lovers. The process of refraining from forming barricades and creating lakes is a unique universal value for which the Plitvice Lakes received international recognition on October 26, 1979, by enrolling in the UNESCO World Heritage List. In 1997 the area of ​​the National Park was expanded and since then it occupies an area of ​​less than 300 km2.

The park is mostly covered with forest vegetation, smaller part of the lawns, and the most interesting and attractive part of the Park Lake, occupy only slightly less than 1% of the Park area.

The lake system consists of 16 named and several smaller, cascade-sized lakes. Because of the geological substrate and the characteristic hydrogeological conditions, the lake system is divided into Upper and Lower Lakes. Prošćansko jezero, Ciginovac, Okrug, Batinovac, Veliki jezero, Little lake, Vir, Galovac, Milino lake, Gradinsko jezero, Burgeti and Kozjak are twelve lakes that make up the Gornja jezera, formed on the leaky dolomites. The upper lakes are more spacious, indented and lighter coasts than the Lower Lakes. The lower lakes, which comprise lakes Milanovac, Gavanovac, Kaluđerovac and Novaković Brod, were formed in a permeable limestone base cut into the narrow canyon of steep slopes. The lakes end with imposing waterfalls at the Suburbs, at the foot of which begins the flow of the Korana River.

    12 hours
    Every day
  • PRICE:
    85€ per person

  • START o7:oo Split
  • National Park Plitvice Lakes
  • FINISH 19:oo Split